Inevitable Scorn


Psalm 119:49-72

49Remember the word to Your servant,
Upon which You have caused me to hope.

50This is my comfort in my affliction,
For Your word has given me life.

51The proud have me in great derision,
Yet I do not turn aside from Your law.

52I remembered Your judgments of old, O LORD,
And have comforted myself.

53Indignation has taken hold of me
Because of the wicked, who forsake Your law.

Am I ready to bear the scowls of those who don’t agree with me?  This is harder for me than I would like to admit.  I admire those who can state their convictions and take the consequences.  I want to run from them and live with my personal opinions safely hidden in the sock drawer.  Not that I need to give my two-cent’s worth at the drop of a dime (he-he) but when the time is appropriate why do I look for a chance to evade sharing my truest thoughts?  Facing the derision of angry people is an uncomfortable experience in any venue, but for those who agree that there are absolutes of any kind, and are willing to say so, experiencing it is inevitable.    

Leave a Reply

