Christ’s Fervent Desire


Luke 22

 14When the hour had come, He sat down, and the twelve apostles with Him. 15Then He said to them, “With fervent desire I have desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer; 16for I say to you, I will no longer eat of it until it is fulfilled in the kingdom of God.” 17Then He took the cup, and gave thanks, and said, “Take this and divide it among yourselves; 18for I say to you, I will not drink of the fruit of the vine until the kingdom of God comes.” 19And He took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is My body which is given for you; do this in remembrance of Me.” 20Likewise He also took the cup after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in My blood, which is shed for you.

What a touching passage.  To hear my Savior speak of His “fervent desire” to sup with us, of his “body given for [us]”, and His “blood shed for [us]”, is amazing.  Christ truly loves us! He is even waiting until the end of days before He drinks wine again.  Wine is for a man at repose or in celebration—not for man while he works.  Christ, too, is working, preparing a place for us.  He is waiting with great anticipation on the Father’s timing to bring His kingdom to earth, renew it, and, once and for all, cast Satan into the hell created for him. Mediating on these thoughts is heart-warming…so I will bring myself to the fire of His love and warm my soul.

