Good Times and Bad


Acts 6

 6 But God spoke in this way: that his descendants would dwell in a foreign land, and that they would bring them into bondage and oppress them four hundred years. 7 ‘And the nation to whom they will be in bondage I will judge,’ said God, ‘and after that they shall come out and serve Me in this place.’

The walk of nations is never a straight line up. It is a meandering among hills and valleys.  It is a journey led by leaders, some wise and some not.  Every nation’s history plays itself out under the eyes of God.  Whether I find myself living in a declining or ascending culture, the knowledge that God has a purpose for this time, helps me keep everything  in perspective.  When I lay down to rest at night, I often think with pity on those in lands impoverished by corruption and war.  As concern fills my mind, I pray for them and remember that God’s eyes are on all and He is faithful to those in want as well as those in plenty. They must trust and I must share. Perhaps God is watching to see what we both will do.

