A Chase in the Parking Lot…or Proving the Will of God to Ourselves and Others


Romans 12

1 I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. 2Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may prove what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Test and see.  That’s our invitation.  Try it God’s way and we get a chance to see first-hand what is the will of God and that it is pleasing, acceptable, and perfect.  One great plus…we also get to prove it to those watching us from the sidelines.  I remember being at a restuarant with my children when they were little.  I was about to leave the parking lot after eating and a dear women came running toward me, apparently trying to chase me down before I pulled out of my parking spot.  She wanted to know “what I did” to have my children so well behaved.  I deferred the compliment a few times, but she continued to press for specifics, repeating her request three times, at least..  Finally, I told her we were Christians and tried to teach our children according to God’s way and with lots of prayer. It was a sober reminder that people are watching, and we have a chance to prove to them, as well as to ourselves, that God’s way is good, pleasing, and perfect.

