One Really Spectacular Person


For those of you who haven’t met one of my favorite role models, I would like to introduce Saint Therese of Lisieux.  If I was to have a patron saint it would be her.  She is so much like me…in her weakness.  And I want so much to be like her in her devotion and love of Christ. Surrounded byvery capable and strong people she found she could not “keep up.”  So she gave what she could, all her adoration to Christ.  She called it her “Little Way.” At the command of her superiors she kept a spiritual diary which we have to this day. Rome has since declared her a doctor of the church…it seems her writings so capture an essential part of The Way…the way in which followers of Christ should set their hearts before him and rest in Him. 

These are some quotes I found of hers from the site www.littleflower.org .  There you can find photos and info about her.  She is part of the “great cloud of witnesses” that encourage me daily to “throw off the sin that so easily entangles and run with perseverance the race marked out for [me]” Hebrews 12:1

Love!…that is what I ask…I know but one thing now – to love Thee, O Jesus! Glorious deeds are not for me, I cannot preach the Gospel, shed my blood…what does it matter? My brothers toil instead of me, and I, the little child, I keep quite close to the royal throne, I love for those who fight.

Story of A Soul, Chapter XI

There is one ONLY THING to do here below: to love Jesus, to win souls for Him so that He may be loved. Let us seize with jealous care every least opportunity of self sacrifice. Let us refuse Him nothing – He does so want our love!

VI letter to her sister Celine

Leave a Reply

