What’s the Big Deal, Anyway?


24At a lodging place on the way the LORD met him and sought to put him to death. 25Then Zipporah took a  flint and cut off her son’s foreskin and touched Moses’ feet with it and said, “Surely you are a bridegroom of blood to me!” 26So he let him alone. It was then that she said, “A bridegroom of blood,” because of the circumcision. (Exodus 4)

At times I have felt like Zipporah. I’ve been tripping blithley along my merry way and been stopped short by the realization that I have been neglecting an aspect of God’s truth that seems to me hardly worth the trouble of doing. How can something so small make such a difference to God, I think. Surely that can’t be important anymore. And yet I wonder. I’m not arguing for legalism but in our guarding against it do we sometimes throw away obediance that matters to God and would lead to blessings for ourselves? Resting one day a week–including no cooking–horrors! What’s the big deal? Well, maybe if I tried to do it, I would find out. In fact, when I think about it, I have obediance to one particular Old Testament principle to thank for a pretty great marriage 😉 Hmmm… I just might start cooking ahead for Sundays….

