Reboot and Reformat


Have you ever had your mind reformatted? That’s what I feel has happened to me in regards to prayer. It’s been a grace to me from the Lord. I’ve spent about a month researching and testing the passage in I Corinthians 11 about headcovering. I think what happened to me during that month had to do with a preparation in my heart to “not be transformed anymore to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” I was willing to give up preconceived ideas about prayer. At the end of the month I was surprised to find that I had an almost empty slate in my head when it can to prayer. So one day, during my usual prayer time, with the kids resting and reading in their own rooms, I locked my door and turned to the Lord with an open heart. It was one of the most refreshing experiences in prayer that I ever had. Rather than kneeling (which always make my legs fall asleep) I sat lady-like fashion on the ground, turned my head upward, and began talking, with my eyes open, to my Heavenly Father. For me it was a really special time. This passage in the Psalms reminds me of how real we can be, how intimate we can be, in prayer. In all sorts of areas, it is a blessing to have a fresh view of  the things we so often do. I pray my Father will continue to do this for me whenever I need it.

1With my voice I cry out to the LORD;
   with my voice I  plead for mercy to the LORD.
2I  pour out my complaint before him;
   I tell my trouble before him. Psalm 142

Leave a Reply

