Angels Among Us


When I wrote my last post and quoted the Psalmist’s words about pouring our complaints out to God, I had no idea I would be doing that very thing later in the day. I received news that a dear mother with young children is dying. I couldn’t stand it. So I prayed, begged for the Lord’s mercy, begged again, cried, told Him how the children needed her, begged more, told Him I would chase after Him just like the woman in the crowd did when He was here on earth, implored again, still cried, and refused to leave His presence. Towards the end of that time, I felt a response in the form of a question. Are [angels] not all ministering spirits sent out to serve for the sake of those who are to inherit salvation?” Hebrews 1:14  There were other words of comfort that I heard but this one was very reassuring. Our Father is close to the brokenhearted and has many angels He dispatches to serve His children who are dying, lonely, and in all sorts of perils. I have no doubt there are angels near her this very moment. She is safe in her Father’s loving care. So are we.

Leave a Reply

