No Free Passes


      Being a Christian does not mean I will get a free pass out of troubles. Like anyone, I am concerned for the welfare of my loved ones during this upcoming flu season. Things could get really tough in the months ahead. I don’t want to think of anyone I love suffering. I want to put a big bubble around my church family and my relatives, alike. But I can’t do that. What I can do is trust that God is the God of all comfort and will faithfully to see me through any troubles that He allows into my life, even if death is the end result.  In a sense, He has put a more perfect bubble around us—the Holy Spirit, the spirit of Christ, through which Jesus pours out love and comfort to us. Chasing after Christ, finding Him, abiding in Him, is our best preparation for the days ahead, however hard they may be.

“3Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. 5For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows.” 2Corinthians

