The Hardest Things to Do


Someday I WILL make these!

I have a lot of fears.  I hate the paralyzing nature of fear. For me it manifests itself as procrastination. I’m afraid of a hard task and I put it off.  Teaching my kids writing, baking homemade cinnamon rolls, writing my own work, redoing my boys’ room….  The list goes on.  Sometimes just deciding what to do intimidates  me and feels like work itself. 

Then I am reminded of Christ’s parable of the workers with the talents.  I don’t want to be like the one who was so nervous about failure that he buried his talent underground.  In the end, the master says, “since you know that I reap where I have not sown and gathered where I have not scattered seed,…you should have invested my money with the bankers.”  (Matthew 15)  In other words, it is worse not to try than it is to fail.  And besides, God CAN gather where He has not scattered seed.  Success that glorifies God can and will happen through the most unlikely people in the most unlikely places.  That includes you and me. So, I will choose to move beyond my fears.  After all, it’s not about me anyhow 🙂

