Into Arabia…or Antarctica


Have you ever had one of those days when, as a mother, you wonder why you even bother to leave the house?  I mean, there is so much work to be done you feel like you might as well do like some Japanese and set up home at the office.  Oh, wait, my home IS my office.  I’m not complaining because so much work has to be done, I’m just amazed at how much needs to be done.  I’m beginning to see why, in the old days, housekeeping was considered as occupation.  It truly is one.

I’m really glad that I volunteered outside the home when my kids were younger.  Back then, their needs were simpler.  Hugs, a bedtime story, good food and the park made the day complete.  Now its a different kind of work and I’m OLDER!  I even have a few strands of silver (not gray) to prove it! I honestly don’t see myself able to do much more than meet the needs of my children and husband right now.  It’s going to take all my energy to school four grades, economize, and keep three healthy meals coming daily.  No small feat when it’s done between driving the kids or myself to necessary classes and meetings.

But why should I be surprised at the work it takes to bring up a family and to care for my husband?  It’s the most natural thing in the world.  Granted, such HARD work is due to the fall of man, but just observing my little finches raise their young showed me how much energy animals put into raising offspring.  I’m afraid, my dear friends, that you can consider me somewhat of an emperor penguin.  I’m balancing my precious egg on my feet and am pretty grounded at the moment.  If I move too much it may roll off and freeze.

The Apostle Paul spent eleven quiet years working in Arabia.  I have ten years  left before I graduate my youngest child.  I hope that, like Paul, after my time in my own Arabia God will grant me many years to do all the things I want to do for my church family and community that I can’t do now.

2 thoughts on “Into Arabia…or Antarctica

  1. I absolutely love the picture of the emperor penguin.

    It’s “no small feat” to balance “my precious egg on my feet.”

    But you do it well, Elizabeth. (And I didn’t notice any gray OR silver today.)

Leave a Reply

