Surprising Revelation


My daughter and I have a tradition on Sunday mornings. We go to Starbucks before church starts and go over something we are reading together.  It only amounts to about 30-45 minutes of talk-time but we have both come to love it. Granted, I love it after I’m out of bed, dressed, and holding a hot beverage in my hand.

Our latest project is a Bible study of Revelation. She really wanted to do it and I wondered how this would work, since I’ve hardly studied it myself or heard many sermons about the book. Providentially, we picked up a simple study that really is making this book of the Bible and enjoyable study.  So, while the potatoes and eggs cool for my potato salad, I’ll share how I’ve been surprised by Revelation, so far.

I loved how Jesus is pictured as “walking among the lampstands”, which are the churches of God. How special to know that He is still so close to us, even today. He is among His own. Something about that truth warms my heart. The message to the church in Ephesus was troubling, though. Jesus saw their works yet was not pleased because they had forsaken their first love. I wondered what that looks like fleshed out. I wondered if I was a little like that. I think it is easy for me to focus so much on the work that needs to be done, that the work becomes my chief concern rather than the Person for whom I want to work.  Jesus admonishes them to do as they did in the beginning. For me, I’m not sure quite what that will look like in my life. All I know is that, to Christ, our love is most important, more important than anything.

One thought on “Surprising Revelation

  1. A few years ago, I did Anne Graham Lotz’s study of Revelation, Vision of His Glory.

    I *loved* it. She really made this book come alive and reminded me that Heaven is a real place and I’m going there someday!

    Like you, I hadn’t studied it much until then.

Leave a Reply

