The Great Lap of God


John 16
25 “These things I have spoken to you in figurative language; but the time is coming when I will no longer speak to you in figurative language, but I will tell you plainly about the Father. 26 In that day you will ask in My name, and I do not say to you that I shall pray the Father for you; 27 for the Father Himself loves you, because you have loved Me, and have believed that I came forth from God. 28 I came forth from the Father and have come into the world. Again, I leave the world and go to the Father.”

The Lincoln Memorial is an astonishingly powerful monument. Larger than life, the likeness of America’s most humble and endearing president sits etched in a mammoth chunk of white marble. Standing in front of it, Abraham Lincoln, unpretentious and accessible in life, becomes unapproachable in the cool, white hugeness of his image. In front of him you experience the desire to climb upon the giant lap of such a benevolent hero and yet, such a gesture seems sacrilegious.

When I read this passage of Scripture from John 16, I keep seeing that monument of Lincoln before my eyes. My feelings about God the Father are often similar to the feelings I felt when I first stood in front of the memorial to this great man. God is, at once, Someone I am totally enthralled with and yet One I hesitate to approach. But in this passage Christ says something that turns this thinking on its head.

No longer is the Father inaccessible. Christ doesn’t even need to convey my messages to God for me, though He intercedes for me day and night. My requests can go straight to God the Father Himself, “because He loves us.” God the Father has entrusted Christ with judgment and sits open-armed in the great throne-room above, waiting for us. This is how Christ’s sacrifice glorifies the Father. We now can behold Him–embrace the One we dared never to approach. We are free to climb into the great lap of God.

Leave a Reply

