A Holy Kiss


“Let him kiss me with the kisses of His mouth…” Song of Solomon 1:1

Kiss the Son,lest he be angry, and you perish in the way,for his wrath is quickly kindled. Blessed are all who take refuge in him.
Psalm 2:11-12

This is an amazing verse to meditate on. It stopped me cold in my study of Song of Solomon earlier this summer. What a wonderful, intimate picture of the Church’s longing for Christ. Is it my longing? Do I really want to be that close? Am I willing to abandon anything that might be offensive to Him? A kiss is the most intimate kind of greeting–do I seek to stay in such unity with Christ that at any time I can be that close in spirit? To be ready to kiss someone is to be reconciled with them. Christ reconciles us by His sacrifice and we accept the gift by faith with repentance. With forgiveness joy comes, bubbling up into passion, yearning for expression. We raise our hands or bow down, dance (or wish we had to guts too), or sit in reverent silence, in love with Someone wonderful. For myself, I can’t wait see I can see Him face to face and greet Him, not like Judas, with a false kiss, but with a pure kiss, coming from the sanctified heart that He will give me!

Leave a Reply

